Zhang makes it a career sweep

Zhang makes it a career sweep

IRVINE, Calif. – Nannan (Dallas) Zhang completed a career sweep winning her fourth PacWest Women's Tennis Player of the Year Tuesday.

Zhang joins former Seasider Shih-Ting (Stella) Chen as PacWest student athletes who have won the top honor in their sports every year of their careers. Zhang was 21-0 at No. 1 singles, winning 259 of 313 games played. A three-time PacWest Player of the Week, she has won 50-consecutive singles decisions and was ranked No. 1 nationally throughout the 2017 season. In doubles, she was 24-0, extending her winning streak to 47-consecutive matches.

Leah Hemuli was named PacWest Freshman of the Year after a phenomenal beginning to her career. She was 24-0 in singles, playing primarily at No. 4, to earn a No. 16 ranking in the region. She was 22-2 in doubles, going 17-2 at No. 2 with Min (Karen) Liu and 4-0 at No. 1 with Zhang.

Dave Porter won his ninth PacWest Coach of the Year award after guiding the Seasiders to another of many undefeated regular seasons and their 11th-consecutive PacWest Championship title. BYU-Hawaii posted 19 sweeps and beat nine nationally-ranked teams. Porter became the all-time winningest tennis coach in the NCAA last season and his career record stands at 1,409-187. His .883 winning percentage is the highest for any NCAA coach in any sport with at least 300 career games.

Xin (Summer) Wen and Liu joined Zhang on the All-PacWest Women's Tennis Singles First Team. Wen was a perfect 20-0 in singles this season and is currently ranked No. 5 nationally. Liu added a 19-1 record this season and is ranked No. 8 nationally. Hemuli was an All-PacWest third team member in singles.

The Seasiders top two doubles teams were first team All-PacWest selections. Zhang and Wen capped their second consecutive undefeated season at 20-0 and rose to the No. 1 ranking nationally before the beginning of the NCAA Championships. Hemuli and Liu finished the season at 17-2 and are currently ranked No. 12 nationally.

BYU-Hawaii will begin the 2017 NCAA Division II Women's Tennis National Championships against Queens (N.Y.) May 10 at 12 p.m. EDT. 

View: Mobile | Desktop