Seasiders win 11th consecutive PacWest Championship

Seasiders win 11th consecutive PacWest Championship

SURPRISE, Ariz. – No. 1 BYU-Hawaii women's tennis captured its 11th consecutive PacWest title Saturday with a 5-1 victory over Hawaii Pacific at the 2017 PacWest Women's Tennis Championships at Surprise Tennis Complex.

The Sharks (13-5) were able to get the first point of the night as No. 9 Nicole Hoynaski and Oceane Adam topped No. 13 Min (Karen) Liu and Leah Heimuli, but it was all Seasiders (27-0) for the rest of the afternoon. BYU-Hawaii's Michelle Li Sha Khoo and Jeong-Min Jeon topped Leticia dos Santos and Bianca Schuloff 8-3 to tie the match. No. 2 Nannan (Dallas) Zhang and Xin (Summer) Wen then took the 8-0 victory on court one over Lara Meccico and Barbora Kijasova to give the Seasiders the 2-1 advantage heading to singles.

Jeon was the first player to earn a victory in singles topping Schuloff 6-2, 6-2 and Heimuli put BYU-Hawaii within a match of the victory after she won 6-4, 6-2 on court four. No. 2 Liu was the first to earn a set victory in singles with a dominating 6-1 win, but No. 48 Adam jumped out to a 3-0 advantage in the second set. Liu continued to battle tying match at 5 before taking the final two games for the 7-5 win and sealing the match for the Seasiders.

BYU-Hawaii will advance to the NCAA DII Championships May 9-13 at Sanlando Park in Altamonte Springs, Florida. The Seasiders will await its matchup for the tournament at the conclusion of regional play. 

View: Mobile | Desktop