Seasiders win 10th consecutive title

Seasiders win 10th consecutive title

SURPRISE, Ariz. – No. 1 BYU-Hawaii women's tennis recorded their 10th PacWest Championship with a 5-1 defeat of No. 9 Hawaii Pacific on Saturday morning at the Surprise Tennis and Racquet Center.

This was the ninth time the Seasiders (22-0) and Sharks (15-5) met in the finals of the conference championship.

No. 2-ranked doubles partners Nannan (Dallas) Zhang and Xin (Summer) Wen dropped the first two games to No. 1 Kristyna Hancarova and Nicole Hoynaski before taking the next three. The Sharks won two more to retake a 4-3 lead, but Zhang and Wen finished strong with five-straight games to end it 8-4.

No. 16 Min (Karen) Liu and Shu-Ying (Suzie) Hsieh defeated Lorena Gheorghe and Syna Kayser 8-6 in No. 2 doubles moment later. Jade Griffin and Kanela Adamson gave the Seasiders the 3-0 match lead with their 8-4 victory against Oceane Adam and Julie Sauer.

The Sharks had their only win of the day in No. 5 singles when Jeong-Min Jeon fell 6-2, 6-0 to Gheorghe. Hsieh traded games with Adam on the fourth court before winning the first set 6-3 and having a perfect 6-0 second set. No. 1 Zhang only lost the third game in the first set on her way to the 6-1, 6-0 victory over No. 15 Hancarova to secure the championship.

The other singles matches were unfinished as BYU-Hawaii held their championship title.

The Seasiders await their pairing at the 2016 NCAA Division II Women's Tennis Championships beginning May 18.

View: Mobile | Desktop