Lady Seasiders win ninth-consecutive title

Lady Seasiders win ninth-consecutive title

SURPRISE, Ariz. – BYU-Hawaii women's tennis captured its ninth-consecutive PacWest championship title on Saturday with a 5-1 victory over Academy of Art at the Surprise Tennis and Racquet Complex.

The Seasiders (30-1) have won every women's tennis championship since the conference's inaugural season.

Kanela Adamson and Jade Griffin started the match off on the right foot for BYU-Hawaii with a dominating 8-0 victory over Academy of Art's Michelle Dandik and Dorota Markowska. No. 1 ranked duo Nannan (Dallas) Zhang and Min (Karen) Liu added an 8-3 victory for the Seasiders over Urban Knights Nina Gajdosikova and Annika Schneider. Academy of Arts only victory of the match came on the second doubles court where Jenny Johansson and Lucia Zavarcikova pulled out a close 9-7 victory over the No. 21 pairing of Marietta Tuionetoa and Jin Jin (Leah) Han.

No. 1 Zhang was the first to finish in singles play with a 6-1, 6-0 victory over No. 48 Gajdosikova. No. 9 Tuionetoa added a 6-0, 6-1 victory for the Seasiders on the third court while No. 4 Liu closed out the match with a 6-0, 6-2 win on the second court.

The Seasiders will return to Surprise, Arizona, to play in the NCAA Division II Championship May 13-16.

View: Mobile | Desktop