Seasiders earn major awards

Seasiders earn major awards

IRVINE, Calif. – Brent Grant received the Golfer of the Year award and Coach Bob Owan was awarded Coach of the Year as announced Tuesday by the Pacific West Conference.

Both awards are the first of their kind for BYU-Hawaii men's golf. Inoka Kahawaii was the only golfer to earn a major conference award previously when he was named Freshman of the Year in 2010.

Grant was also named to the All-PacWest first team, while teammates Nicolas Herrera and Dalton Stanger were selected to the third team.

Grant ranked No. 12 from Golfstat with an average score this season of 71.93 and he shot a low round of 7-under 65 at the Mustang Intercollegiate. Grant won both the Mustang Intercollegiate with a 13 under and the PacWest Championship at 7 under. He was the first Seasider to win the PacWest tournament.

Owan led BYU-Hawaii to its first tournament win this season at the Mustang Intercollegiate and the Seasiders highest finish at the conference championships. BYU-Hawaii also earned a No. 16 ranking from Golfstat and was the fifth seed in the NCAA West Region under his directions this season.

PacWest champion Dixie State led the conference with five All-PacWest selections. BYU-Hawaii earned three, and California Baptist, Dominican and Hawai'i Hilo each earned two.

BYU-Hawaii is currently competing in the Regional Tournament and was in second place after the first day. The tournament will continue through Wednesday.

A full list of the selections can be found here.

View: Mobile | Desktop