Seven Seasiders earn soccer honors

Seven Seasiders earn soccer honors

IRVINE, Calif. – BYU-Hawaii men's and women's soccer combined to receive seven All-PacWest honors on Wednesday, as selected by the coaches.

On the men's side Azusa Pacific led all team with seven players earning All-PacWest honors. BYU-Hawaii, California Baptist and Notre Dame de Namur each garnered six.

BYU-Hawaii senior Chris Pineda was named PacWest Goalkeeper of the Year for the second consecutive season. The preseason pick lived up to the billing, ranking second in the conference in save percentage (.782) and fourth in goals-against average (1.241).

His teammate, senior Jace Green, was named PacWest Newcomer of the Year. The BYU transfer ranked third in the PacWest with 22 points on nine goals and four assists. In his only year at BYU-Hawaii, he had a seven-game point streak during a stretch where the Seasiders went 5-1-1.

Green and Pineda were both named to the first team for their accomplishments. Seniors Colby Bauer and Landon Southwick were both named Third Team All-PacWest, while junior Abraham Garcia and senior Zak Epplette were honorable mention selections.

Bauer and Epplette have all tied a top BYU-Hawaii's single game assist record. Epplette tied for fourth in BYU-Hawaii's record books with six assists in his career as well as tied for eighth in assists in the PacWest. It has been Bauer's best season as a Seasider with four goals.

Southwick, a two time All-PacWest Honoree, has helped BYU-Hawaii achieve 11 shutouts during his three seasons with the Seasiders. He has also recorded a total of 4400 minutes played in his career. 

Southwick and Garcia led a back line that allowed the third fewest goals during the entire 2014 season and the second fewest in conference play. They were also third in shutouts during conference play.

Senior McKenzie Evans was named honorable mention on the women's side. She ended the 2014 season with five goals and three assists for the women's team.

Holy Names junior Jaime Phillips was named PacWest Player of the Year after leading the conference in goals (21) and points (44) for the second-consecutive season. While Azusa Pacific junior Chris Brusenback was named PacWest Defender of the Year and Dave Blomquist was named PacWest Coach of the Year.

California Baptist forward Aidan Apodaca was named PacWest Freshman of the Year, recording 15 points on seven goals and one assist. 

View: Mobile | Desktop